Home Back to Witnessing Your Thoughts  

Summary of Witnessing Your Thoughts

by Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati 

Yoga meditation systematically leads us to the realization that:
"I am not my thoughts! Who I am, is the Self who is Witness of the thoughts!"

In which state is my mind currently? 
  1. Kshipta, disturbed, troubled
  2. Mudha, dull, heavy 
  3. Vikshipta, distracted, partly focused
  4. Ekagra, one-pointed, focused 
  5. Nirrudah, highly mastered, regulated 

Which of the qualities or gunas is dominant with this thought?

  1. Sattvas, illumined, light, spiritual 
  2. Rajas, active, stirring, moving  
  3. Tamas, static, stable, inertia 

Which type of thought is this? 

  1. Pramana, clear, correct, valid 
  2. Viparyaya, misconceived, unclear 
  3. Vikalpa, conceptualization, fantasy 
  4. Nidra, sleep, focus on non-being 
  5. Smriti, memory, recalling 

How do I know this is true? 

  1. Pratyaksha, perception or experience 
  2. Anumana, inference or thinking 
  3. Agamah, written or oral testimony 

How do the four functions of mind interact with this thought? 

  1. Manas: driving actions and senses 
  2. Chitta: storehouse  
  3. Ahamkara: I-maker 
  4. Buddhi: decides, judges, discriminates 

Is this thought colored or not colored? 

  1. Klishta, colored, afflicted 
  2. Aklishta, not colored, not afflicted  

Is this thought useful or not useful?

  1. Useful to growth 
  2. Not useful  to growth 

If the thought is colored, which colorings are dominant?

  1. Avidya, spiritual forgetting, veiling 
  2. Asmita, associated with I-ness 
  3. Raga, attraction or drawing to
  4. Dvesha, aversion or pushing away
  5. Abhinivesha, resistance to loss, fear 

What is the current stage of the coloring of this thought?

  1. Udaram, active, aroused 
  2. Vicchinna, distanced, separated 
  3. Tanu, attenuated, weakened 
  4. Prasupta, dormant, latent, seed 

How is this thought operating at the four levels of consciousness? 

  1. Vaishvanara, waking, conscious 
  2. Taijasa, dreaming, unconscious 
  3. Prajna, deep sleep, subconscious 
  4. Turiya, fourth, witness, consciousness  

Is this thought pattern who I am? 

  1. Yes, it is who I am.  
  2. No, it is not who I am.  

(To print on a single page, you might need to reduce the View size in your browser.)